Online Databases

The Greenwood Public Library provides access to several online databases.  With your GPL card, you can even access some from home.  Please refer to the key below to determine how to access a database.

  = accessible in the library
 

= accessible from home (or anywhere outside the library) with your 14-digit library card number.

 
= provided for FREE to Indiana residents through INSPIRE
 
 

ALLDATA
Covers automotive repair information (electrical diagrams, diagnostic and repair procedures, maintenance schedules, recalls, parts and labor estimating) for all major models back to 1982. For models pre-1982, call the Reference Desk at 317-885-5036 (ALLDATA may be able to fax older information to the library).
PLEASE BE SURE TO LOG OUT WHEN FINISHED SINCE THE LIBRARY IS ONLY ALLOWED 3 SIMULTANEOUS USERS.


Ancestry.com
Provides access to hundreds of genealogy databases including historical maps, the Social Security death index (containing over 59 million names), the Ancestry world tree database,  and Juliana's links (a fully searchable database containing descriptions of genealogy sites). Also offers free online magazine and columns by Ancestry.com's editorial staff, genealogical chat forums, e-mail access, and an online store.

 AtoZdatabases
The Premier Job Search, Reference, and Mailing List Database. The database includes 2.3 million job listings, 30 million business profiles, 1.1 million healthcare professionals, and much more. Ideal for sales leads, mailing lists, market research, employment opportunities, finding friends and relatives, and much more.

  Biography in Context 
This is a comprehensive database of biographical information on over 340,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. It combines more than 435,000 biographies from over 1,000 volumes of 135+ respected Gale sources, such as Contemporary Authors, with more than 538,000 full-text articles from nearly 300 magazines.
 
  HeritageQuest
Inside the library? Click here.
Outside the library? Click here.
This genealogy database includes 22,000+ family and local history books, the U.S. Federal Census from 1790-1930, PERSI Index to 6,500+ genealogy and local history periodicals, Freedman’s Bank Records, Revolutionary War Pension and Bounty Land Warrant Application files, U.S. Serial Set, and much more!
 

Hobbies & Crafts Reference Center
Learn about anything from how to knit to model building and gardening by reading articles and watching videos.


Home Improvement Reference Center
Find how-to articles and videos on dozens of topics related to your home including installations, repairing, glossaries, and a conversion chart.

  Indiana Memory 
This is Indiana's digital library and is a collaboration of libraries, museums, archives, and related cultural organizations. Search by keyword or by general topics such as architecture, agriculture, government, and daily life. Find primary resources from Indiana history.

  ¡Informe!
This database provides full-text access to over 100 titles of the most popular Spanish-lanuage magazines and pamphlets. Covers 1996-present and includes a Spanish thesaurus and interface.
 

  INSPIRE
INSPIRE is the place to go when you need reliable, verifiable, quantifiable, and accurate information. It offers magazines, books, encyclopedias, and other resources for all Indiana residents. Research current events, science, business, health, notable people, hobbies, and much more from the library, school, home, or the office. INSPIRE includes over 2 dozen databases with thousands of magazines and journals with full text plus hundreds of newspapers from around the U.S.

  LitFinder
Provides access to thousands of full-text poems, short stories, and essays as well as the best known speeches of the past 2,500 years categorized into easily searchable genres. The database also includes over 1,000 plays covering the range of dramatic expression.

      

Mango Languages
Learn over 30 languages via a step-by-step conversational method.  Several versions of ESL are offered for non-English speakers.  Login in anonymously or set-up a free account via the library's Mango site.  For learning on the go, download the free Apple or Android Mango Languages Library Edition app on your mobile device (after first setting up an account via the library's Mango page).

  NoveList
Inside the library? Click here.
Outside the library? Click here.
Do you ever want to find a good fiction book but don't know where to start? The NoveList database can help you out. It includes over 135,000 title listings, 110,000 annotations, 90,000 full-text reviews, 500 BookTalks, 350 award lists, and 250 book discussion guides. You can search by author, title, plot elements, keywords, or series for adult, teen, and children's fiction titles.

  Small Business Resource Center
Search for anything related to small business and entrepreneurship in this comprehensive database that is a collection of business periodicals, reference sources, and online guides.



  Student Research Center
Search simultaneously in books, magazines, dictionaries, encyclopedias, primary sources, maps, and much more for any school topic.

  Testing & Education Reference Center
Create a free account to track your progress studying for AP exams, TASC, the GED, ASVAB, SAT, ACT, civil service exams, and much more! Also, read Peterson's test prep books online, create resumes with the Online Resume Builder, and research colleges and professional programs.

 
WorldCat
This database is composed of millions of records built from the bibliographic and ownership information from contributing libraries. Records for everything from stone tablets to electronic books, wax recordings to MP3s, DVDs and websites are incluced. Records typically have library holdings information attached to show where they can be accessed (for libraries that are part of OCLC--Greenwood Public Library is not a member).